French-Girl Style Fatigue? Let These 5 Cities Inspire You Instead

♬ Around the world, around the world ♬

I’d be fibbing through my teeth if I said I didn’t spend approximately 86% of my online life lurking the likes of Sabina Socol, Jeanne Damas, Louise Foillan and Emma Rowan Rose. There’s a reason these women command so much of our collective attention, and perhaps too why including ‘French Girl’ in any story title is like stumbling upon a little pot of SEO gold ;). When I throw jeans, a sweater and boots on, I doubt my own mother would be able to pick me out in a lineup, so unremarkable do I look. See, however, when a french girl does the same, a style icon is born.

The formula French It-girls like Jeanne and Sabina subscribe to when getting dressed is unwaveringly simple—espadrilles and vintage jeans here, frilly lace tops and basket bags there—which begets the question: how do they manage to make it all look so damn good? A natural approach to (10/10) beauty can’t hurt, nor could a confident yet laid-back attitude…

But, we’re not here to discuss french girl style! Enough think pieces on the subject have been spawned to last us a lifetime (guilty as charged), and lest we forget there’s 4,415 cities outside of Paris that are filled with stylish inhabitants that wake up with the sun every morning to get dressed. Since we’ve all got places to be/people to see, we whittled that list down to a tidy 5 cities. Now, kick back with a beverage of your choosing, and allow them to inspire the heck out of you below!

COPENHAGEN

Danish girls really have that whole ‘I didn’t choose my outfit, my outfit chose me’ thang on lock, don’t they? Effortless, cool and chic, we would not hate crawling into the wardrobe of every single girl below, where we’d take happily up residency for the rest of our days.

Sophia Roe (@sophiaroe)

Still my favourite boots

A post shared by Sophia Roe (@sophiaroe) on

Frederikke Sofie (@frederikkesofie)

Portugal 🐙

A post shared by frederikke sofie (@frederikkesofie) on

Pernille Teisbaek (@pernilleteisbaek)

Home🏡

A post shared by Pernille Teisbaek (@pernilleteisbaek) on

Emili Sindlev (@emilisindlev)

Spring 🌱

A post shared by EMILI SINDLEV (@emilisindlev) on

Trine Kjær (@trineswardrobe)

Veneda Budny (@venedaanastasia)

Barbara Potts (@barbarapotts)

A post shared by Barbara Potts (@barbarapotts) on

SYDNEY

Call me the captain of this partisanship, but us Australian’s know how to throw together a look. We’re a fairly casual bunch, but when there’s an occasion (be it popping to the convenience store to buy milk or flocking to MBFWA every year) we rise to it in our Sunday bests! Don’t believe me? See for yourself below!

Chloe Hill (@chloechill

🎀🎀🎀🎀🎀

A post shared by Chloe Hill (@chloechill) on

Amber Prado (@bbgorlambs

drape me in velour pls

A post shared by 🖤 𝕒 𝕞 𝕓 𝕖 𝕣 🖤 (@
bbgorlambs) on

Monica Russell (@monicarussell_)

v busy lots to do 🍒 #vodkasodacherry

A post shared by Monica Russell (@monicarussell_) on

Ellen Virgona (@ellvirg

shoes

A post shared by Ellen Virgona (@ellvirg) on

Lillian Ahenkan (@flex.mami

Amelia Dibbs (@amelia.dibbs)

👂🏼

A post shared by Amelia Dibbs (@amelia.dibbs) on

Chesca Athas (@chescaathas)

A post shared by Francesca Athas (@chescaathas) on

LONDON

London’s dreary weather doesn’t prohibit its most fab women from cooking up traffic-stopping outfits on the regular, with all the evidence you need of that contained within the Instagram accounts below:

Pandora Sykes (@pandorasykes

Fashion spam @netaporter #thenetset 🌺

A post shared by P A N D O R A S Y K E S (@pandorasykes) on

Bee Beardsworth (@beebeardsworth

Wild At Heart.

A post shared by ★ BEE BEARDSWORTH ★ (@beebeardsworth) on

Sarah Harris (@sarahharris)

When you look like a cafe latte ☕

A post shared by Sarah Harris (@sarahharris) on

Ariane Hughes (@arianehughes)

A rose for the yellow bellied lovers

A post shared by Ariane Hughes (@arianehughes) on

Ruby Jean Wilson (@rubyjean_wilson)

Ciaoooo ❤

A post shared by Ruby Jean (@rubyjean_wilson) on

Irina Lakicevic (@irinalakicevic)

Skater jeans are back and very ready to replace your basic Mom model #fact

A post shared by Irina Lakicevic (@irinalakicevic) on

LOS ANGELES 

Los Angeles is home to some of the most creative yet understated looks that we have the pleasure of lurking on a daily basis. Now, you can do the same!

Glori Reantaso (@glorireantaso)

how did they lose my photos?

A post shared by glori reantaso (@glorireantaso) on

Eliana Rodriguez (@elianagilrodriguez)

💸💸💸

A post shared by Eliana Gil Rodriguez (@elianagilrodriguez) on

Kate Parfet (@kateparfet)

bada bing

A post shared by kate parfet (@kateparfet) on

Andy (@andyishh)

🍷

A post shared by @ andyishh on

Clare (@inouicg)

Dana Boulos (@danaboulos

never wanting to come home 🐣 @jaketroth

A post shared by Dana Boulos (@danaboulos) on

STOCKHOLM

Stockholm’s inhabitants really test my self control when it comes to not setting my wardrobe on fire and starting afresh, every single day. Now I am passing the curse (/blessing) over to you! Enjoy!

Rebeka Breymas (@beccabreymas)

saffronbun/coffee pure genius🍦

A post shared by Rebeka Breymas (@beccabreymas) on

Olivia Bergman (@oliviabergman)

Somewhere between Wolf of Wallstreet and Oceans 666

A post shared by oliviabergman (@oliviabergman) on

Patricia DeVall (@badrizia)

cuz mi momma told mi better than that 🎶

A post shared by PATRICIA [パトリシア] (@badrizia) on

Elinor Nystedt (@elinornystedt)

🐍 #home

A post shared by Elinor Nystedt (@elinornystedt) on

Words, @madw0n
Lead Image, @ciao__lucia

MOST READ

GET INVOLVED